TRUCKS - Gas or Diesel

MBuzzy

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm about to buy a Ram 2500 long bed.......trying to decide on Diesel vs Gas. I'm towing 2-3 horses, mostly short distance, but some long distance. Initially living in Ohio, but will be moving all over. Any suggestions which?

I've heard plenty about how much everyone loves Diesel, just never heard anything about the Gas version.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
The gasoline engine is often quieter than the diesel plus gasoline is easier to find than diesel. Diesel isn't necessarily scare but not all gas stations have it and some municipalities pass ordinaces as to whether diesel can be sold in their town or not.

Towing horses doesn't sound like something you need to do every day (correct)? You may find the gasoline engine to be more practical overall.

I'm not a truck expert though...

LawDog

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
*The Dodge Ram diesel is a strong engine.
*The Dodge trucks have been having front end problems.
*The noise level of the Dodge diesel is very high.
*Diesel fuel costs more then gas.
*The new fully computerized gas engine and transmission combinations offer high horse power and good fuel milage.
If you are not going work a diesel on a regular basis then the gas engine is your best buy.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
How do modern day diesel engines handle being parked over a night or two in the cold? Do they still need glow plugs?

OP
MBuzzy

MBuzzy

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
My biggest concern with a Diesel is that fact that I will be doing a lot of short distance driving and hauling. Very little long distance and normally not much weight - which was the primary reasoning behind the gas engine. Plus......It's a Hemi.

OP
MBuzzy

MBuzzy

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score