Training Alone...

Johnny-sama

White Belt
Reaction score
I'm on summer vacation, and I seriously am craving for some training! I'm still a beginner, a 9th Kyu in Bujinkan, so I'm not sure what I should train in. I've tried shadow grappling, but it's nothing like the real thing....

Help?

RoninX

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I'm on summer vacation, and I seriously am craving for some training! I'm still a beginner, a 9th Kyu in Bujinkan, so I'm not sure what I should train in. I've tried shadow grappling, but it's nothing like the real thing....

Help?

Since you are only a beginner, you should focus your training in the practice of the basics: Kamae no kata, leg work, shadow tai sabaki, Gôgyô no kata, Ukemi-gata and the basic methods of kicking and punching. Ths should be enough for you.

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ask your teachers. They can guide you on what YOU need better than anyone on the internet.

But I've never heard an advanced Bujinkan practicioner say that they practiced their basics too much...

stephen

Purple Belt
Reaction score
To be honest, given your length of time training, I wouldn't practice things like san shin, kihon happo, or specific 'kamae' too much.

You're likely to solidify bad habits without some occasional 'course correction' by your instructor.

I would work on two things mainly:

- Flexibility: Strech every day.

- Ukemi: Roll, a lot.

If your ukemi is incorrect the ground will fix it - so it's very easy to make sure you don't go off course. The flexibility will help with this.

In my opinion, the way to get the best the fastest is to have excellent ukemi. If your ukemi is good you'll be able to receive and learn from class instruction without worrying about your safety.

You could practice all that other stuff, you may be doing it right, you may be doing it wrong - you'll probably end up about where you left off.