too long recovering time after lifting?

R

Rahde

After weight training, I'm usually sore for the next two days. and giving 1 day of rest, if I try to lift again, I'm only up to about 75% of full potential power. Does this sound right or does my body just have a long recovery time? I do get about 8 hours of sleep (give or take) and take protein mix. Is there anything else that can help me to recover quicker?

CMack11

Orange Belt
Reaction score
You can try a hot-and-cold interval shower after you workout. Start really hot, then switch to cold, and keep doing that for a while. I don't know the science behind it, but it works for me.

Also, are you lifting the same muscle groups after your 1 day rest? You really shouldn't be lifting with the same muscle groups with that little rest in-between.

OP
S

SMP

Everyone has different recovery times. You can continue to train your body this way and it will adapt.

OP
R

Rahde

I've been lifting for about 2 months now.

I am working out the same muscle groups but I thought that was ok if I wait 48 hours before doing it again?

CMack11

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Rahde said:
I've been lifting for about 2 months now.

I am working out the same muscle groups but I thought that was ok if I wait 48 hours before doing it again?
I'm pretty sure you need to wait longer than 48 hours. Usually most personal trainer types recommend anywhere from 4-7 days rest for a certain muscle group.

You should definetly not go hit, say, back and biceps on a Monday and be back in on Wednesday to do back and biceps again.

mj_lover

Blue Belt
Reaction score
always rotate muscle groups, back and biceps one day, legs and soulders the other day, or something like that.

OP
R

Rahde

thanks for all the responses guys
I need to re-think my workout :)

Tgace

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Yep...sounds like classic overtraining.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Rahde said: