Thinking of switching schools

MichaelJ

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello All,
My situation is quite serious and would love to get some insight from anyone willing to offer.

First and foremost let me say that I am a dedicated martial artist and in no way want to speak negatively about anyone. I am being very outright with what I am about to say to get good objective opinions

I am considering leaving my school. My reasons are this. My instructor is bias and it is ultimately affecting me. I am not advancing as I should due to this fact. I do not agree with the favortism that comes with it. It is blatently obvious not only to me but other students, and puts a negative spin on things. I am a motivated person and this has slowly drained my of my commitement to the school I attend. There are many details to this that I would be happy to share of anyone needs to know to make an objective comment.

I want to convey that I am not a "Doho Hopper" and am not looking for a quick fix. I am in this for the long haul.

My rank is brown belt and I am excited at entering the new level of learning that comes with black. My ultimate goal is to have my own dojo some day and share the knowledge that I have learned through kenpo. The kenpo Community can be a small one and I dont want this to reflect negatively on me or my current instructor. The Martial Arts experience thus far has been a positive one for me. I dont want to make the wrong decision here, but I am really getting at my wits end. You cant change the ways of someone who has been teaching for 20 + years nor do I want to. I just want to continue growing. I dont feel I am doing that anymore.

Any advise or insight is sincerely appreciated.

Old Fat Kenpoka

Master Black Belt
Reaction score