thinking about getting a Dell computer? Beware!

R. Derderian

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi all,
I have been posting on every website I frequent to warn about Dell computers. I have had one for two years and have to say they are the WORST in the area of customer service. I mean completly incompetent. I spent four months trying to get a replacement DVD drive. I had to replace the hard drive. I expanded the RAM a few months ago (had no choice but to buy it from them) and for two months I have been getting daily calls because they haven't received a payment. Well, I have been telling them for two months they never sent me a statement or bill. I have given them my address at least a dozen times. They said they removed late fees. I finally got a statement from them today and of course, there are two months worth of late fees on it.
Just the worst company I have ever dealt with. If I could do it over again, I would not have bought this thing. I don't mind the problems with the computer, it is the terrible and c.s. people you have to deal with.
Raf

OUMoose

Trying to find my place
Reaction score
Sorry to hear about your bad luck. :(

Yet again proof positive as to why I build all my PC's now.

MA-Caver

Sr. Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
I've been fortunate to have Ceicei's husband build my computers for me ever since I bought my first one (a 256 mgzh) a number of years ago. Now, if I want customer service ... I babysit... or help clean out the garage! :lol: Seriously though I've haven't had too many problems with "home-built" computers. But then it does help to have a (skilled) friend to barter the repair work with.

Cryozombie

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I am constantly contacted by customers at my Help-desk job who would rather pay 50.00 a hour to have me fix their PC than call for support from Dell.

Andrew Green

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score