The Gathering

KamonGuy2

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I was thinking of organising a wing chun get together for everyone on this forum as people seem to be sharing the same passion

I have noticed that many come from the USA and thought this might be a good venue

Please note - I will not be teaching or anything, as whilst I am a martial arts instructor I still have a lot to learn. It might just be good to hook up and train, maybe go for a few beers etc

My bro is currently in the US (Baltimore) so I could do a trip all in one

What do you guys and gals think?

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Kamon Dude: Surely you know that getting different branches of WC/WT together is harder than herding cats! Even in my own town, the several different branches (Fong Chi Wing's WC, Leung Ting's WT, Emin Boztepe's WT, Moy Yat's VT) don't even speak to each other. Well..I try, but that makes me an outsider to all of them. I noticed on some of your posts that you didn't think too much of WT (which has now split into several organizations). I spent more than a decade studying in that branch with a guy named Leung Ting and I found his technique and theory to be very sophisticated. I've also worked with a WT fighter named Emin who was really good. And, I've worked with some folks who trained under Keith Kernspecht on the Continent. All were good. That's not to say that there weren't other issues. Aren't there always? I don't know how WT has been promoted in the UK, but in the States it depends a lot on the school. I'd like to know what your criticism of the system is from the Kamon perspective. As for a gathering--if I weren't a poor high school teacher living 2,000 miles west of Baltimore, I'd try to make it. But, really, that's out of the question for me. Still it's a good, if delusionally optimistic idea. Good luck!

qwksilver61

Black Belt
Reaction score