Studying Wing Chun & JKD at the same time

StormShadow

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Has anyone done this and what were/are the obstacles you've faced? I am back into jkd and also 3 months into wing chun. I am just learning how to incoporate the punching I have learned so far with movement. I know the stances between wing chun are different. The movement of feet is not entirely different though. I am just wondering will I negatively impact my wing chun training. And at the crux, a additional question, can one really be under two sifu's at once? And if so, does doing so violate some ethic?

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
The guy I trained JKD with would likely think it is a good thing since he wa sof the beleif that to really understand JKD you needed a base of Wing Chun and/or Jun Fan

OP
StormShadow

StormShadow

Blue Belt
Reaction score
Sheng, I actually believe the same thing from having been in jkd in the past for a short time. After taking wing chun I grew to love it alot and I also love jkd. Though, I really to not want to impede my wing chun training with the idea of being "formless" when in fact I am trying to master forms in wing chun... lol I laugh because in the most both are so much alike yet different.

Argus

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Which art do you really want to focus on, or are you just exploring them both?

If your focus is JKD, I think Wing Chun will help your JKD significantly.

If your focus is Wing Chun, then JKD might actually be detrimental. But then again, it might not; it depends on your teacher, and on you, and how well you are able to keep the two separate in practice.

If you're just exploring both, don't worry about it yet. Just explore each art for what it is.

That's just my impression though; I've never trained JKD personally.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score