speed and power drills

G

gatser_83

Hello everyone, hows it going? I'm new to martial talk and just want to say that i have found the info everyone gives to be very useful and i also love the site. My question is can anybody give me some speed and power drills to help improve my martial art. I would greatly appreciate any advice or drills. Thanks a lot gatser_83.

Shirt Ripper

Black Belt
Reaction score
As I am new to the arts myself I will not try to extend striking techniques or drills but if you are thinking in a general training realm then I may be of assistance as this is my area of interest and "expertise."

Plyometric activities will be what you are looking for. Nothing advanced, but there are several simple things you can do to train the "stretch-shortening cycle" of muscle action. This is obviously key in striking and many other areas of some martial arts.

Bounding and jumping are great (and extremely simple) for developing explosive power in the hips, legs and body as a whole. Do some searches on the net and check out a few books (ie. "High-Powered Plyometrics etc.) and do some research. I would advise you to educate yourself on these matters before engaging in them as there is, as with many other areas, a risk of injury.
Many of the same ideas can be applied to the upper body (think clapping push-ups), but a couple of medicine balls will be you friend in this respect throwing them in many different manners are of great benefit. Things like chest passes and throws against the wall come to mind off hand.

Also, merely practicing the movements of your chosen art will increase your bodies ability to perform the tasks involved.
For example, great high jumpers train very significantly in plyometric type movements and power based weight lifting movements but they do more actual high jumping. Same for basketball players. Sprinters get fast from doing resistance training and plyo's and other things but a HUGE part of what they do is RUN.