Solo Practice with armbars and locks???

Tswolfman

Green Belt
Reaction score
I have been doing Modern Arnis for roughly 4 years on and off. I have been having problems getting to the studio i train at ( due to the distance from my home 50+ miles away ) . Also i dont really have a training partner at home. I was wondering if anyone has any ideas on how to train at home working on the Armbars and Locks without a partner?

modarnis

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Very difficult to practice without a partner. These skills develop from hands on practice, developing a sense of when the lock or takedown becomes effective, and how body position, size/strength of opponent, and opponent's pain tolerance impact the particular lock. That being said, there are a few options for training the techniques available. While not optimal, some training is better than no training.

1. Use a training dummy: a product like Datu Worden's Silent fighter will allow you to work entries and "line up" techniques like armbar, cane takedow, compress elbow etc

2. Visualize the techniques as they can apply in kata. The Modern Arnis Anyo's are ripe with joint locking and throwing techniques. Slow your practice when a particular move allows for this type of interpretation, visualize the application of the technique and also visualize resistance/or complications. How would you deal with those issues

3. Practice the motions of the particular lock as a calestenic. Wally Jay's book of Small Circle Jujitsu may provide you with some ideas as to how that might look. The finish to a proper standing center lock, as one example, mimicks screwing a lightbulb into an overhead socket

4. Finally, trade beer, toilet cleaning, lawn cutting or whatever to a friend who doesn't train and get some live practice. There is no real substitute for an actual opponent. You might be surprised and actually get an ongoing training partner