Reaction score
Well, here's something.

Last edited by a moderator:

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Ummm... your question was about "securing" guns in a car. Is that your idea of secure? :rofl:

OP
P

PhotonGuy

Senior Master
Reaction score
No but I do like the guy's setup. But I wouldn't want something like that myself.

Rich Parsons

A Student of Martial Arts
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Well, now, no, but I don't have to-I'm an engineer.

What he said. :) Specifications are written so people can design and plan without having a completed object in the possession.
Being an Engineer is a good thing. I should know, as I am as well. ;)

jks9199

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
In the back of a Toyota Prius its easy to fit a rifle, Ive done it. Having a concealed safe for a rifle would be different. It would require some major custom work to be done.

So don't. Get a decent, locking case. Use a bike lock or similar chain lock to secure the locked gun case to a solid point in the vehicle, like attachment points for seats or anchor points for the LATCH system child seats. Cover with a blanket so that nobody looks in the back, and decides that, with a pair of bolt cutters, they can steal your gun. If you're traveling and staying overnight, easy to remove the gun case and put in your room. Don't make things harder than they need to be. (Actually, it occurs to me that you just might find that principle of wider utility...)

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
In the back of a Toyota Prius its easy to fit a rifle, Ive done it. Having a concealed safe for a rifle would be different. It would require some major custom work to be done.

The two phrases "major custom work" and "Toyota Prius" should never be used in the same sentence.