Royler Gracie

DeLamar.J

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
I am new to brazilian jiu jitsu, so I went out and bought this book by Royler Gracie called submission grappling techniques. I am completely new to this style and it said in the book that he wrote it for students who have a basic idea down of grappling. Am I going to benifit from this book being new? because I know from being in karate that its not good to mess with advanced techniques until you have the basics down. I was also wondering what a good book is to get for someone who is 100% new to BJJ? so I can learn the basics first. This was the only book I could find darnit.

A

auxprix

I think that most people will tell you that books are fine, but they are a poor substitute for hands on experience and live teaching. This is especially true in grappling. I would suggest reading it and working on the techniques in class carefully. Also tell your instructor what you are working on, and what you read about it. Bring the book so you can show them the passage if you have to. They may offer you some insight and clarification on thing you didn't understand, or thought you did but really didn't. There's a good chance that your teacher owns a copy him/her self.

Old Fat Kenpoka

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I find that that book is particularly helpful to me as a BJJ beginner. The explanation of grips, basics, and many of the techniques are good reinforcement for what we learn in class. But, like Auprix said there is no substitute for going to a class. You want to learn from the best teacher and practice with the best partners.

Think of it this way: Grappling is like sex: you won't become a great lover if all you do is virgins; and you won't even become a good one if all you do is read books and magazines by yourself.

Bod

Purple Belt
Reaction score
It's a great book for a beginner, though it covers very little on the guard position. It covers mount defences pretty well though.