Questions about Pyong Ahn Cho Dan/Preparation

Lynne

Master of Arts
Reaction score
I started learning Pyong Ahn Cho Dan Tuesday night. Gee, at least I know half of the form, lol.

I'm actually doing well with it. I freeze when I get to the Hadon Sudo Makees at the end but am getting there.

I have some questions, please...

1) At the beginning, you look left, do a low block and then middle punch. Then you turn 180, do a low block, a downward hammer strike and then you take your right arm over you head and do a hammer strike with the right foot coming back perpendicular to the left foot. What are those two moves called in English? What is that perpendicular stance called? Anyone know the Korean names for those moves? It will be helpful if I know - I hate to articulate by calling the moves "that crazy arm thing."

2) Preparation for Hadon Sudo Makee. Since I'm just learning it, I haven't been taught a leg preparation. We simply (well, not so simple yet) prepare with the arms, step in a back stance, perform the move, prepare with the arms, step into a diagonal back stance, perform the move. I saw some of the higher belts doing a stepping Hadon Sudo Makee and it looked like they were preparing with the legs but it wasn't a twist like we do in defensive stepping (or it didn't look like it).

Thanks for your time!

stoneheart

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Lynne, it really depends on which strain of TSD you are what stance you are are when you perform what is likely the hammerfist block or strike (me joomeok). The way I learned it, it can be either a block or strike, the motion is same, regardless of what you imagine your target to be. The stance you are speaking of is a cat stance (bom so gi) the way I learned Pyong An Chodan, where 90% of your weight is balanced on the back foot.

Tez3

Sr. Grandmaster
Supporting Member
Reaction score