Old school kickboxers, how did you start?

chrissyp

Green Belt
Reaction score
This is a question more for those who fought traditional kickboxing (American rules) back in the day.

While i'm not from that era, my first boxing/kickboxing coach was.

When he started me kickboxing, he told me I would first be learning how to box, before I could kick. To This day, I always found that a strange training method, but it retrospect, it made me very good with my hands, and gave me strong fundamentals, that when I trained at other gyms, couldn't replicate.

My other question is, for those who were apart of that era. Did you start boxing first, or did you start with Karate? How did you go about blending training back in the day? I'm just kinda looking for a history lesson here, and wondering if anyone else was taught to "box before you can kickbox"

frank raud

Master of Arts
Reaction score
My background is more jiu jitsu than kickboxing, but I did some. How did I start? Walked into a club, was getting info on different classes, someone walked up the stairs with a flock of reporters and photographers. Who's that? I ask. "Jean-Yves Theriault, the world kick boxing champion. He's our kickboxing trainer." Worked a lot on hands. Jean-Yves Thériault (kickboxer) - Wikipedia Oddly enough ,many years later I was on the grading board when Jean-Yves went for his black belt in jiu jitsu.

Headhunter

Senior Master
Reaction score
Started with boxing but when I did kickboxing I didn't start with one or the other it was a mix of punches and kicks in combos and I started boxing first then kickboxing but now I focus more on karate but use kickboxing workout to stay in shape

IcemanSK

El Conquistador nim!
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score