Okinawan Goju Ryu And Uechi?

CatNap

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I studied Uechi once, but I know nothing about Goju Ryu - how are they similar and different?

chinto

Senior Master
Reaction score
they have a reasonable amount of similarity's. more then say a Shorin ryu system would... they are both classified basically as Naha te systems.. so you will find a fairly large amount of similarity's. the stances and techniques are similar.. kata will differ some I am sure.

If you have a goju ryu dojo near go watch them and see.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I studied both and found them quite a bit different. Uechi is barely modified kung fu, while Goju is more reminscent of classical karate. Both are good systems.

chinto

Senior Master
Reaction score
there you go, some one who has studied both... still I would say go watch a class if you have a goju ryu dojo near you. can not hurt to look.

OP
CatNap

CatNap

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I've been checking out some youtube clips - does anyone think this style may be too abrasive for a woman? I don't mind getting in shape but getting smacked all around doesn't look appealing....I could get beat up for free, doesn't it seem somewhat abusive?

Brian S

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I've been checking out some youtube clips - does anyone think this style may be too abrasive for a woman? I don't mind getting in shape but getting smacked all around doesn't look appealing....I could get beat up for free, doesn't it seem somewhat abusive?

Goju schools are very high on conditioning.A good instructor won't do more than you can handle.

punisher73

Senior Master
Reaction score
Goju schools are very high on conditioning.A good instructor won't do more than you can handle.