Not quite so cuddly as you'd think

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I'm not surprised. They can get big, they are strong, and they can be mean as hell. And the ones that live in and around cities and people are not afraid of anyone. And most dogs, even a big one, would not stand up well against a full grown raccoon.

I had a friend who grew up on a farm. She had a dog, an Australian Blue Heeler, or Shepherd, or something, some type of working, farm dog. Her dad watched the dog chase a raccoon down the hill into a small stream that flowed thru their property. ONce in the water, the raccoon turned and attacked the dog, and sat on his head and held him underwater and tried to drown him. If her dad hadn't chased the raccoon away, the dog would have been drowned. Raccoons can be scary smart.

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
When I was an animal control officer, we responded to stuff like this all the time. Been chased by a few of em as well.

There is a serious overpopulation of racoons since hardly anyone hunts/traps them for their fur anymore. Coonskin caps should come back in style.

You first theletch1. I bet it'd make ya look cute.

Jeff

King

Green Belt
Reaction score
I've never seen coons as cuddly. The first time I encountered one I tried to shoo it away from rummaging through the garbage. The vicious thing turned to look at me, stood on it's hind legs and hissed back. From then on I called them bears. Now baby dwarf bunnies, those are cuddly.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
yeah, coons are only cute if they are younger than about 8 weeks.