New Hyung!

agemechanic03

Purple Belt
Reaction score
Ok, I started learning Naihanchi Cho Dan on Monday :ultracool. I have to say, seeing one other guy in my class perform this hyung, made it look EASY! Only 2 days into he hyung, I am starting to get it down pretty good with the occasional freeze. Very interesting and I am looking forward to reading more about it and trying to figure some bunkai on it. So I guess I will be doing a lot of THREAD searching to see what I can find plus lots and lots of practice. I don't know if it will make it into my top hyung favs, but we'll see once I get it down.

Lynne

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Sounds like fun. Is it red belt form? What kind of unusual moves does it have? Some of those higher belts forms look very complicated.

I will probably start learning Pyong Ahn Cho Dan tonight - without knowing the new blocks first. I will learn them as I do the form. I'm a little nervous but excited.

FieldDiscipline

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
I will probably start learning Pyong Ahn Cho Dan tonight - without knowing the new blocks first. I will learn them as I do the form. I'm a little nervous but excited.

You hope! I know this has been said before, but that doesnt exactly inspire confidence...

Yossarian

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Naihanchi Cho dan is a great form and one of my favs. It isnt all that hard to learn compared to others but its full of really nasty applications. Iain Abernethy made a video of Naihanchi and Bassai applications, check it out if you can.

Pyung Ahn Cho dan shouldnt be too hard after the Kichos, its the same H pattern. It also has a lot of nasty applications. Its great when you move from the kichos onto the Pyung Ahns, just wait untill you learn ee dan its usually most peoples favourite.

JT_the_Ninja

Black Belt
Reaction score
There are a few discussions of naihanchi on these boards. This thread has videos of upnorthkyosa doing the three naihanchi forms.