Need some advice...

S

Senfeng

Hi,
I'm new to Martial Talk. I am a Gung Fu student, but I'm not sure if I should post my questions in the JKD forum or in the Chinese Martial Arts or Wing Chun forum.

My instructor's father was a student of James Lee when he had a school in Hayward, CA.

Any help would be appreciated.

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Any of those are fine. Jun Fan Kung Fu has been discussed in the Jeet Kune Do forum and in the Wing Chun forum, and any Chinese Martial Art is on-topic in the Chinese Martial Arts-General forum. I'me sure that people in the Jeet Kune Do forum would be interested to know more about your experiences with the martial arts in James Lee's lineage.

Please just post! If we think a post should be moved we may do so. This happens all the time and you shouldn't be concerned about it. We try not to be "rules-heavy"!

-Arnisador
-MT Admin-

OP
S

Shinzu

welcome Senfeng. always nice to have new members.

OP
S

Senfeng

Thank you! So far everyone's been pretty friendly and helpful. Nice forum.:)

OP
M

Master of Blades

Welcome.....Hope you enjoy you're stay :p

OP
S

Senfeng

Thank you! hopefully I can get rid of this white belt soon.

OP
B

Blackdragon

Hey Senfeng! Welcme to martial talk. It IS good to have new members. I hope you enjoy MT.com as much as I do.:)

By the way, what style do you train in exactly?Was it JKD?

OP
S

Senfeng

Its not really JKD. It is the style that James Lee was teaching before he died.
Site

Cthulhu

Senior Master
Founding Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
It sounds like the highly modified Wing Chun Bruce Lee was teaching at the time.

Still, as Bruce evolved, he would share his new discoveries with his three instructors: Taky Kimura, James Lee, and Dan Inosanto. Of those three, only Dan Inosanto is known to have ever certified instructors under him. James Lee passed before he ever got the chance.

Cthulhu