My two months learning martial arts in China!

jackwushu

White Belt
Reaction score
Hey guys, this is my first time on this forum, but I plan to hang around! After spending a spring in China I am now completely obsessed with Chinese martial arts! Anyways, I thought that a good first post would be to talk about what I’ve been doing for the past few months and some of the training I’ve had.

I’ve always had a passion for martial arts and tried judo and taekwondo when I was younger, but never found something that I really loved. Completely randomly about a year ago I joined a kung fu class in my hometown and thought ‘wow, this is awesome!’. In one class you had people practicing with swords, staffs, whips and of course bare-hand forms. There were people of all ages, so my biggest impression was that Chinese martial arts really are for everybody, I’ve never seen anything else like this in any other martial art.

Anyways, long story short I decided one day that since these martial arts come from China, the best thing I could do, would be to go to China! After a bunch of searching online I found at least a dozen schools in China offering classes to foreigners that don’t speak any Chinese. How to decide? A couple were ruled off straight away, if you can’t design a website which is easily readable to a foreigner I’m not going to send you my money in the mail! A few schools also didn’t answer my e-mails for two or three weeks at a time, which kind of put me off. Eventually I found one that had videos of students and teachers online, answered immediately and was half-based in China, half in Switzerland. Switzerland sounded reliable enough to me ;)