Martial Arts for Law Enforcement...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hapki-Concepts

White Belt
Reaction score
I would love to start a conversation about M.A. for LEO's. I'm a martial artist and LEO. I teach Control Tactics and feel more officers NEED to train! This is a free resource for LEO's or anyone interested in Control Tactics / Combatives / martial arts for COPS. What style/ system do you train?

ACD-Combatives, Control Tactics, & Self Defense.

Thanks and stay safe...

Steve

Mostly Harmless
Reaction score
I would love to start a conversation about M.A. for LEO's. I'm a martial artist and LEO. I teach Control Tactics and feel more officers NEED to train! This is a free resource for LEO's or anyone interested in Control Tactics / Combatives / martial arts for COPS. What style/ system do you train?

ACD-Combatives, Control Tactics, & Self Defense.

Thanks and stay safe...
I think part of the problem is LEO are a little too good at killing people. Maybe cops would benefit more from some soft skills training.

drop bear

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I think part of the problem is LEO are a little too good at killing people. Maybe cops would benefit more from some soft skills training.

It is hard to get the balance right between being able to clamp a guy with a degree of safety and not going overboard.

And it is hard to get right.

A lot of killings seem to be a lot of little errors that lead to big errors.

So say you go to a job on your own. Because that is more cost efficient. That is a small error.

So you get out and you put yourself somewhere a bit unsafe. Small error.

You mess up your instructions, or don't communicate as well as you could. Small error.

Then you get in to a fight that you didn't think would happen. Small error.

You then do something dumb in that fight. Small error.

Then you have to dig your way out in a blind panic. Person dies.

Now If some of those errors get fixed the likelihood of a guy getting killed reduces.