Looking for people interested in getting together in Seoul and/or school recommendations

chen yaolong

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hi guys

I am new to this forum, my name is Will and my background is in Chinese martial arts, which I studied mostly in China over the past 7 years. I am currently living in Seoul, near Kyung Hee university and will be staying here until March 2015.

I would love to meet anybody else in Seoul who is interested to get together and hang out/train together etc

Also, if anybody could give me the lowdown on the best clubs/teachers here, that would be great. From what I have read about, Hapkido and Taekkyon look to interest me the most, but am open to other suggestions too.

Thanks

Will

oftheherd1

Senior Master
Reaction score
Welcome to MT. I haven't been to Seoul since 1987. But my GM had several Masters/Grand Masters who had schools in his Kwan there. He also had some in Taegu. As I am sure you know, Hapkido is a grappling art, and rather hard on opponents. What you would still no doubt find the most of would be Tae Kwan Do. There would also be Tang Soo Do, Hwa Rang Do, and Mu Duk Kwan. Kung Fu and Judo are also there. Judo had a bit of a bad reputation as a lot of gangsters trained in it, but never tested to avoid legal problems if they got into a fight. The newspapers euphemistically referred to them as Judo School Dropouts. I am sure there must be legitimate Judo schools as well.

I don't know what you are looking for in another martial art, but I can recommend Hapkido. It is a good grappling art.

Dirty Dog

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score