Lineage

be_like_water

White Belt
Reaction score
Hi all. This is just a thought. I know that we all learn from a different lineage, and thus having different strengths and weaknesses. What are your opinions on different lineages and do you think that all lineages should unite? Do you think we could learn a lot from each other? I am studying the Lee Shing lineage from Sifu Austin Goh. What are your thoughts of this lineage?

geezer

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Hi all. This is just a thought. I know that we all learn from a different lineage, and thus having different strengths and weaknesses. What are your opinions on different lineages and do you think that all lineages should unite?

Unite? Hell no. Then we couldn't go around each smugly knowing that we are the best! LOL

Seriously... there is a deep rooted individualism in all the CMA. Each style, sub-style and branch trying to come up with a version that's better than the others. Without that dis-unity, we wouldn't have the magnificent variety of CMAs. I like the variety of the way things are... although sometimes it might be nice to see a little more mutual respect.

cwk

Blue Belt
Reaction score
I've never understood all the lineage bashing that goes on. Each to their own I say.
one of the reasons I chose to post on this forum is the lack of that kind of stuff, it's like a breath of fresh air.

dosk3n

Green Belt
Reaction score
I dont think that lineages should join at all. Its has its own merits such as Ip Ching and Ip Chun have different tan positions. Both have a rational reason behind this so if you were to merge how would you chose which is better or more important.

The variation is great and gives us all somthing to talk about. As long as we all respect each others lineage and know each others version of the form works for a reason then everything works. Gives us all reason to meet up, train together and discuss.