knifework and these arts

antec20

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
hi there. i'm new to knifework. i'm looking at Bujinkan, San Miguel Eskrima/Doce Pares and 5 animal kenpo for knifework.

how do each of these compare for knifework? i've looked at each in person and i can't seem to tell.

i was told by the sijo of 5 animal kenpo that the knifework is based upon Wing Chun and Fencing. this same teacher is also a black sash in wing chun, has been doing it for 20 years, is a Master of Arms in Fencing.

i have the three websites for each of the places if that helps.
www.geocities.com/bujinkanmartialartscenter
capitaldocepares.com
www.haineskenpo.com

arnisador

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm biased, of course, but I think the FMA and Indonesian martial arts really have great knifework. Wing Chun uses the butterfly knives, which are more like short swords, and fencing is of course swordwork. I'm not familiar with Ninjutsu knifework. The tanto techniques I've seen out of jujutsu styles seem to be heavily based on corresponding sword techniques.

Knarfan

Green Belt
Reaction score
I have to agree with Arnisador , FMA & Indonesian knife arts are excellent !

Phil Elmore

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Before I clicked on this thread, "Kali/Escrima/Silat" was what went through my head. Consider me another "Yeah, what they said."

Cruentus

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I would say that FMA would isolate the knife more, where as in wing chun and bujinkan you will be getting a broader spectrum.

I say just go where you can find a good instructor that suits your needs.

[email protected]

Green Belt
Reaction score
Hello antec20,