Kenpo and Systema - Comparison?

J

jdmills

I studied Kenpo for a few years but I am an in area (Sarasota, Florida) where there does not seem to be a decent Kenpo school (If anyone knows of one, please let me know, Lee Wedlake in Ft. Myers is just a bit too far). There is a good (as far as I can tell) Systema school in Sarasota that is a few blocks from my office.

I really am not looking for a "which system is better" discussion, but I really would like to hear from someone who has studied both under decent instructors. How are the systems similar/different? What are the differences in philosophy?

Please let me know what you think.

NYCRonin

Purple Belt
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Well, my kempo experience is very much a part of my past - but 35 years ago I did marvel at the skills of one Russel Kossugi -- a kempoist of the oldest breed.

I am really not qualified to do a kempo/systema comparison -- but, since you are close to a good friend in Sarasota -- just drop by for a look see. It might be something that interests you -- and with your background, may provide fertile ground for your further growth.

Perhaps another poster might have such a dual background -- I believe Mr. M. Wheeler is also a well regarded kempo-ist. Just take a look - see if this appeals to you.
Best advice I can offer, sir.

erich

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Look up Martin Wheeler at Kenponet.com. I believe they have published an interview with him in which he discusses both systema and Kenpo.

FYI - Martin knows what he is talking about, he is very well respected in the systema world.

Kenpodoc

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Lucky man, Sonny Puzikas in town and Lee Wedlake and hour away.

Kenpo is actually a very varied Martial art but as generally taught in EPAK is technique based with both hard and soft components. It is clearly strongly influenced by the Chinese martial arts and has an underlying Eastern philosophical tinge.