JKD/Shaolin Kempo (Southern IN - Louisville, KY) OR Kung Fu... Just looking for direction

mryddin

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I have some questions... First the important one.. I had back surgery in 2000... was a bulging disk... I have some back trouble from time to time but for the most part I seem
fine (out of shape) but fine. I play ball, hike, scuba ect... Do you guys think I will be ok with MA?

next, I studied Tang Soo Do student in Oswego New York from age 15 - 18 with prior ymca self defense class.... I am now 36 and missing some of the things from my past I did
not have the chance to keep up with... I have been a long time fan of Bruce Lee and wanted to find the time one day to study his JKD... and I hope that day is near... Only
problem is I do not seem to be near anyone that can professionally teach it... So I have to ask do you guys know of one that I have not located that is close... with work and
kids I can’t make the long trips so local is my drawback.

or, if there are no local JKD instructors then my next style of interest would be traditional Kung Fu like animal styles or the mix like with Shaolin Kempo... any help on
highly credited dojo's in my area for those?

last of all... it’s really been a while, I at one time loved being involved and miss that in my life... however I am afraid that what I remember as an 18 year old may be
drastically different from what a 36 year old can do... from what you more experienced guys have seen over the years would you say you only get better or would you say that
the things you could do when you were younger you have had to avoid and focus on different things as you age (make any sense)?

not sure if I can post links (new guy here) but I wanted to offer up a few I have found and would love your positive or negative thoughts... or if you know of one I don’t
please post info....

Schools To check out...

http://www.louisvillemartialarts.net/shaolin_kempo_karate-Shaolin_Kempo.php
3545 Springhurst Blvd.