jiulong bagua

jarrod

Senior Master
Reaction score
what can anyone tell me about this style of bagua? i'm pretty new to researching CMA, so any background would be helpful.

thanks,

jf

JadecloudAlchemist

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Hey Jarrod

Jiulong Bagua is John Painter's system. I believe he learned it from the Li family.

Dale Dugas here practices this style.

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
can you tell me anything about what makes it different from other styles of bagua?

jf

Talk to Dale Dugas he posts on MT, he can tell you all you need to know about Jiulong Bagua and John Painter.

I went to a few of John Painter's Bagua seminars many years ago and all I can tell you is that he has a very good understanding of Bagua and I would train with him again if I were pursuing Bagua. I also trained to other forms, not styles, and to be honest all are different to some extent.

DaleDugas

My door is always open.
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Jarrod,

What is it you would like to know more about?

OP
jarrod

jarrod

Senior Master
Reaction score
anything would be helpful. what does a typical class look like, what are the principles of the system, what if any weapons are included, does it make use of forms, can it be integrated well with what i already do (jujitsu, sambo, kickboxing), anything like that.

i've taken an interest in cma after working with my kickboxing coach, who is also a tai chi instructor & lung lum pai master. i'm moving to denver in a few months & planning on visiting a jiulong bagua school out there.

jf

ebozzz

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
anything would be helpful. what does a typical class look like, what are the principles of the system, what if any weapons are included, does it make use of forms, can it be integrated well with what i already do (jujitsu, sambo, kickboxing), anything like that.