Is there Shaolin practitioners on this forum?

Janina

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I am a Zen Instructor and practitioner of Martial arts from Finland and I seek to achieve a deeper spiritual understanding in different kinds of MA. I have been trained in Kobushikai Shorinjiryu Karatedo, Iaido (Japanise swordsmanship) and Bujutsu amongst them. I also practice traditional Okinawan Kobudo, Ashtanga Yoga and Chanmeditation. I have received Boddhisattva precepts as a Mahayana Buddhist practitioner and serve as a Buddhist instructor in my home town Zen community. I have received the refuge in both Zen (Chan) and Tibetan Vajrayna/Tantrayna Buddhist tradition also known by the name Nyingma.

The reason I started this thread is because I have asked to become a Shaolin Practitioner and would like to share some discussion with others who have been practicing under that formal tradition. I am 36 year old entrepreneur from Finland. Vegetarian, pacifist and follower of Bodhisattva path. So is there any formal students of Shaolin tradition on this forum

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I'm not that aware of that many Songshan people around here.

I'm Shaolin origins with Choy Lay Fut & Tibetan with Lama Pai, but no Songshan & only the martial aspect. Sorry.

OP
Janina

Janina

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Thank you for your response. I am also a practitioner of Tibetan tradition and have been studying both Nyingma- and Kagyu sects of that tradition. Songshan tradition interests me in the reason I told already. I have asked to become their Buddhist student and wanted to discuss with others who have got some education in that tradition.

Though your experience is not about Songshan, it would be nice to hear your experiences as well, cause it is always pleasure to change some experiences!

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score