Interview Transcript - San Miguel Eskrima/GM. Mendoza Jnr.

stickmaster2000

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Transcript of Interview with San Miguel Eskrima Grandmaster Federico Mendoza Jnr. Cebu City, Philippines – Sunday 17th June 2007

Interview conducted by: Master Anton St’James
Translation by: Mitzi Codilla

ASJ GM Mendoza could you tell us at what age you first started martial arts training?

GM I started my martial arts training when I was still at an early age of 12 years old studying under Grandmaster ‘Momoy’ Canete.

ASJ How old were you when you started Eskrima?

GM I was 14 years old when I started training Eskrima under the guidance of ‘Momoy’ Canete.

ASJ I understand that your Father was a keen martial artist, could you tell us a little about him and his martial arts?

GM My father started training in martial arts under GM ‘Momoy’ Canete in the late 1950’s training in the disciplines of Combat Judo and Eskrima. My father was the one who introduced me to Eskrima and allowed me to train under GM ‘Momoy’ at an early age. My father still kept on practicing martial arts until the later years of his life.

ASJ You trained under GM ‘Momoy’ Canete for many years, can you tell us what training was like back in the early days.

GM Training in the early days when I started was quite different compared to now, because before we don’t have a gym yet where we can practice, we just make use of any open space that we can find that was large enough to practice on. Also, back in the early days we practice for long hours everyday, we often practice about 6 hours everyday starting in the afternoon about 1.00pm – 2.00pm and then training at night time as well.

ASJ Did you ever compete?

GM The first time I competed was in 1975 in the first NARAPHIL tournament and again in 1979.

ASJ What was competition like back then?

GM It was tough, the armour was very thin and not like it is today, the arm covers were only short and there were no gloves yet.

ASJSo, many bruises then…