Interest in a martial arts movie?

azmyth

Orange Belt
Reaction score
I haven't posted here in ages. Been busy with life and other things.

I needed to get the opinions of some like minded individuals on what they thought about this idea.

I've noticed a lack of good martial arts movies being produced by Hollywood these days. I know we all grew up watching the van damme/norris movies and things like that. I'm actually a martial artist, as well as a film maker. I've produced a feature length horror film that will be out on DVD in September and am currently in production on another one. I'm not sure on the rules of posting links to those things, so if your interested in seeing that stuff or if its ok to post links, I will do so.

Anyway, to make a long story semi-short. I've been thinking really hard about making a martial arts movie. But I want to take a different direction with it than what Hollywood has been doing, and create a dramatic story based around the characters, and not make all of it revolve around the fighting. Fighting and martial arts will play a big part of it though. I've got a plot synopsis already ready to go, and am currently working on the screenplay. My question to you guys is this, is there still an audience for this kind of film to make it worth giving it a serious go?

I'd have to raise funds in order to shoot it, but what I've got planned could be done on a fairly low budget. Who would be interested in something like this? or even to go as far as say contributing to a crowd funding campaign in order to get it going? It would be sort of like a martial arts film made by martial artists. I haven't seen many indie martial arts movies, and I would love to see what I could do with it.

I just want to make sure I have an audience or otherwise there's no point!

Supra Vijai

Black Belt
Reaction score