Indonesian Taijiquan or "Thay Kek"

Trent

Green Belt
Reaction score
Being a student and instructor, I've practiced what Donn F. Draeger refers to on page 81 of his book, "The Weapons and Fighting Arts of Indonesia" published in 1972 as "Thay Kek" to the Cantonese and "Tai Chi Chuan" in Mandarin. It is acknowledged and taught by Bapak Willem "Uncle Bill" de Thouars as well. Obviously, this art migrated down with the Chinese to Indonesia, and as arts do, absorbed the influence of the various kun tao and pentjak silat styles already in the area. I've seen Mas Reeders' version and it is very similar to Uncle Bill's.

I've also been exposed to some other taijiquan (thay kek) from a different Indonesian source, and quite frankly, it was terrible and completely lacked any internal components while having poor external movement, too. It was nothing like what I've been exposed to on a long term basis.

Has anyone else been exposed to Indonesian Taijiquan, and if so, what were your impressions?

Xue Sheng

All weight is underside
Reaction score
Sorry, no.

I have no experience with Indonesian Taijiquan. My experience is with Chinese styles Yang, Chen, Wu and a little CMC.

And I have seen a lot of Chinese Taiji practiced without internal, not bad Taiji just bad practice. Could this be what you are seeing with the Indonesian Taijiquan?

OP
T

Trent

Green Belt
Reaction score
Thank you for the reply Xue Sheng. Your answer leads me to another question I'll start another thread with as I'd like the replies here to be narrow in response.

If anyone else has seen some Indonesian Taijiquan, please chime in.

wadokai_indonesia

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I am Indonesian, in Indonesia (Jakarta) and I learned Taijiquan from Mr. Adipranata who learned Taijiquan initially from Mr. Li Lianjin.