I Miss Kenpo

Herbwoman

White Belt
Reaction score
When I was 14 I lived in Belvidere, Ill. I studied Kenpo under a couple who lived next door and eventually took some classes at a dojo in a nearby city that I cannot remember the name of. I became a yellow belt and began training in my next level when I had to move. In Wyoming there was no one to continue my training under. Unfortunately I let my training lapse and did not practice. I probably couldn't do a skip side kick now without falling on my butt.

About 10 years ago I tried to resume training at a dojo in Atlanta but the Sensei there did things so differently that I just couldn't make the adjustments and I dropped out. Even the salutation was different.

After all this time I have difficulty remembering the exact meaning behind the gestures. I would appreciate it if someone could help refresh my memory. It was a series of three gestures.

First the back of the right hand was loudly struck into an open left palm held at a 45 degree angle.

Second, both hands were turned so that fingertips pointed at the wrists, the palms were then turned outward.

Third, both hands were then moved downwards to abdomen level in a slight cradling gesture.

The interpretation I remember went something like "Kenpo is my weapon. I bear no others. I will use it with honor." But I really don't think the interpretation of the first gesture, or the second is exact.

Could someone please tell me if you know the exact interpretation of the gestures. Also, can anyone tell me which dscipline of Kenpo I studied from the description of that salute?

I wish I could find a Sensei of that exact discipline again. I loved it so and I miss it. After all this time I would even gladly begin at white belt again. I still think fondly of my Sensei and the plastic whiffle ball bat he used to encourage us to tighten our abs while we ran.

I would appreciate any help you could give me.

Thank you.

searcher

Senior Master
Reaction score