Horse Stance

C

CloudChaser

hi, i'm a martial arts newbie, and i need help with a bit of the basics here... my horse stance is especially weak... i still pretty much totter or topple over backwards when someone pushes me... where should i be centering the weight on my feet so i don't lose balance so easily?

any advice would be greatly appreciated! thanks! :asian:

Ceicei

Grandmaster
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Go lower and bend your knees a little bit more, be sure to keep your back straight. Your feet should be about as wide as your shoulders.

- Ceicei

KenpoTess

Sr. Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hi CloudChaser.. welcome to the Board :)

Easy way to get into a good horse stance is to stand with your feet together.. then push your heels out (so you're pigeon-toed), then your toes out so your (duck-footed) then pigeon toed again, (knees should be shoulder width apart) (you don't want your toes to be pointing outward, bend your knees and Sit down, keep your back straight , weight should be evenly distributed on both feet, push your knees out, tuck your butt under, You shouldn't be able to see your feet when looking down.
Eventually with practice, the deeper the horsestance you'll achieve.

Hope this helps :)

Tess

OP
R

rmcrobertson

If you ski, it's a snowplow...

relax your shoulders and neck; try to tuck your butt in, keep your chin up, and get your weight a) towards the outsides of your feet, b) (harder still) back on your heels.

You will have trouble with keeping your heels out, and your knees bent.

If the tops of your thighs start to burn, you're doin' it right...but don't go completely nuts for a while.

And breathe; breathing is perfectly OK up through Brown belt.

But please note: the advice only really works for American kenpo. Other styles should do it that way, but don't...

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
Tess and Ceicei gave good advice.