HELP: Looking for tips from other instructors from Great Britain (If possible)!

GhostDog

White Belt
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm hoping that the community on here will be able to help me out.

I'll give you a little bit of background information, I'm an ITF instructor from the north of England and I'm looking for tips on advertisement for my club, I'd like to know what has worked for other people on here.

I used to teach at a boarding school and I was quite fortunate as many of my students came from there, however the school has now closed after going bankrupt.

As such I'm now in a couple of new halls and one in a new area and I'm looking at recruitment methods.

I've found leafleting to be nigh on pointless, I've leafleted huge swathes of the local area with hardly any take up.

What I have found to be effective is advertising on local Facebook groups, nearly all of my students over the past year since we left the school have been from Facebook however I don't want to rely on it solely.

Any tips on what has worked for you in the past etc would be greatly appreciated.

I'm hoping to go full time by the end of the year as it's something I love doing and to be able to get out of the rat race would be life changing.

Warm regards,

Mark.

Last edited:

marques

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
I'm not an instructor from Great Britain, but usually I start searching in sites like that: dojos.co.uk Or just Google.
Many years ago I used flyers in social places and mouth-to-mouth.

Tony Dismukes

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Do you have a website for your school? The first thing I do when looking for schools in a given area is to check Google.

Jenna

Senior Master
MT Mentor
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm hoping that the community on here will be able to help me out.