Heavy bag training?

Dec

White Belt
Reaction score
Im new to FMA, im taking Doce Pares. I keep going thru the paterns over and over. I would like to add a heavy bag into the mix. I went looking at bags and was concerned that the sticks would rip it up in not time.

I did a search and Heavy bag is mentioned in a few other posts, but never what brand / weight. If you have modified your bag to take the punishment of the sticks please pass on this information also.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

-Dec

--p.s. Wife says ugly tires in the back yard are out of the question

Blindside

Grandmaster
Founding Member
Reaction score
edit: I didn't see the "ugly tires" at the end of your post. I don't know of one offhand, but I'm guessing an old school canvas bag, with an additional leather cover would probably do the trick. And the requisite duct tape of course.

Lamont

cbursk

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to sticks as well. I practice my stikes on a heavy bag I have at home in my garage. It is an older freestanding Century Brand, Wavemaster. The basic red covered foam filled kind that sit on the the black water filled base. I'm not sure what the skin is made of - but I've been smacking it for about 6 months with no signs of damage yet.

HKphooey

Senior Master
Reaction score
I used a canvas bag wrapped with duct tape to mark specifi strikind zones (low, middle, high). As mentioned above, tires work great too.

MJS

Administrator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Dec said:
Im new to FMA, im taking Doce Pares. I keep going thru the paterns over and over. I would like to add a heavy bag into the mix. I went looking at bags and was concerned that the sticks would rip it up in not time.

I did a search and Heavy bag is mentioned in a few other posts, but never what brand / weight. If you have modified your bag to take the punishment of the sticks please pass on this information also.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

-Dec