Going to a new school

James HKD

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I've been studying MA at the same school for 6 years now. For the past three years I have wanted to pick up another art for many reasons that I believe will be beneficial to me. In no way do I have any quals with what I'm learning at my home dojang. Here is the spot that I'm in. I get to study for free, more or less, because of the work I've done for my dojang. The doors have always mananged to stay open by the grace of god. Would it be disrespectful to start learning at a different school but not pay for my lessons at my home dojang?

seasoned

MT Senior Moderator
Staff member
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
If your doing it with your current senseis blessing, then no. If he is fully aware of what you are doing and has no problem, then go for it. Honor and integrity are always the gold standard in true martial arts training...

OP
James HKD

James HKD

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Of course. I wouldn't go behind my masters back for something like this. I'm far too honst, sometimes too honst for my own good. I just feel like it would be insulting if I told him that I wanted to train at another school. I'm just not sure how to approach a conversation like this. I do want to broaden my horizons as a martial artists but I dont want it to be like a slap in the face.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Just be direct and straightforward. Tell him you'd like to supplement your current training by also exploring xxxxxx. Most instructors wouldn't take it as a slap in the face, they are more likely to see a benefit to your own training and perhaps even the school. As long as everything is above board, things tend to work out for the best.

OP
James HKD

James HKD

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
I appreciate your input. I'll try and find a way to put it across with as little friction as possible.

Cyriacus

Senior Master
Reaction score