Flexibility for Older Students

T

TKD50

New to this forum so sorry if this has already been asked. I am an older TKD student who has studied 6 years. I constantly work on my flexibility which is quite poor. Because of this my side and roundhouse kicks are not what I would like them to be. Any advice? Thanks

Klondike93

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Stretch as often as your body will allow you too. I put it this way cause if I stretch every day my body won't stretch very well. If I go every two to three days, I get much better stretches with less pain. You might also give this place a look, Stretching Scientifically, and see if their info can help.

:asian:

OP
C

Chiduce

Originally posted by TKD50

New to this forum so sorry if this has already been asked. I am an older TKD student who has studied 6 years. I constantly work on my flexibility which is quite poor. Because of this my side and roundhouse kicks are not what I would like them to be. Any advice? Thanks
Stretching as meditation, i think is the key here. The pain of stretching can be minimized greatly with proper breathing and mental enlightenment. I split at least 3 days per week and at the most 7 days per week. My average is 4 days per week and each time that i stretch as meditation the pain decreases to null as my spirit is lifted. This is also a great ways to cultivate new chi and discard the old stagnant chi. You already know that waiting 5 to 10 minutes after splitting before kicking is the best way to train. By the way, i'am 45. Sincerely, In Humility; Chiduce!

OP
C

Chiduce

Originally posted by Klondike93

Got me by 3 years :eek:

We are still wet behind the ears! Sincerely, In Humility; Chiduce!

OP
I

islandtime

Originally posted by Chiduce

We are still wet behind the ears! Sincerely, In Humility; Chiduce!

You guys are just kids..:D. I will hit 57 this year (maybe)
Anyway to the stretching problem, try this link