Fitness for Bujinkan...

Varg05R6

White Belt
Reaction score
I will be starting Bujinkan in early March & as I have a couple of months I thought I would ask what practitioners of Bujinkan recommend along the lines of exercise or areas to strengthen.

I have never trained any joint locking/grappling stuff & have only briefly touched on weapons. I am not worried about cardio fitness as I have been a personal trainer for five years but am more interested in any exercises for areas that need to be strengthened.

For example when I was training muay thai we did lots of work conditioning the shins and strengthening the neck.

Anything anyone could suggest to get me started?

Thank you.

stephen

Purple Belt
Reaction score
I have 3 recommendations:

1. Stretch - By far, the one area that holds most new students from learning quicker is their lack of flexibility.

2. Stretch - It's worth repeating.

3. Core Strength - You're a personal trainer, so you probably know more about this than I.

MSTCNC

Brown Belt
Reaction score
First off, welcome to MT, Cobber!

There are some really great people on this forum... and the exchange of information can be very beneficial to all of MT's Members...

Nothing to contribute other than my welcome I'm afraid... and I look forward to reading the answers and they come...

Secondly, thanks to David for the link to Mr. Sonnon's website... interesting information I will have to look at more closely...

Best regards...

Your Brother in the arts,

Andrew

Brian R. VanCise

MT Moderator
Staff member
Reaction score
Hey Rhys. All of the above advice is good. Stretch alot and that will help a bunch. Also do alot of deep squats. (with or without weights) You will be doing alot of ukemi and rolls so leg strength is very, very important in Budo Taijutsu.

Also stick with it as those first few months can be pretty tough.

Alan Witty

White Belt
Reaction score