Fed up with training now!!!!

Corporal Hicks

Black Belt
Reaction score
Hi,
I've been praticing MA for about 4/5 years and it seems like I'm getting absolutely no where at all. I know I'm a slow learner and it takes a while but no matter how much I pratice, at home as well, it always seems that there's always flaws in what I do. I'm not looking for perfection but it would be nice to be able to think that I could at least not hit in play fights with mates, yet somehow some hit always seems to get in.
I've tried different arts, but then I realised that I wanted one to focus on self defence and it just seems that no matter what I do somebody who is less experienced than me, can beat me, or stand a very good chance of beating me.
It would be nice to have a little natural talent or something but at the moment it just seems that I'm really inexperienced.
What am I doing so wrong? Why can I not feel confident?
I learn a self defence move then the next day it goes out the window! I'm limited to training with just myself at home, and the gym at the moment, so what do I do? mental image or what? In the end percievance may be the key but if you feel like I do, it seems a waste or time and money!

Marginal

Senior Master
Reaction score
There's no way to avoid getting hit. Even folks like Sugar Ray Leonard who were known for their incredible defensive skills will tell you that. Nobody's defense is perfect,and no MA is going to give you perfect defense.

R

rmcpeek

Practice. Practice. Practice. It is the only real way to get better. I understand your frustration, but look at when you get hit as a learning process, not some failure.

You already know you don't like getting hit, it shows by your frustration in your message post. Now take and evaluate what you're doing after your training session. Be calm. Think through what you might have done differently to avoid it.