Doctor, Can I get HIV from . . . . ?

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
I'm sorry. I mean, Senator Frist, Can I contract the Human Immunodificiency Virus from persperation? You are a Medical Doctor, aren't you?

Stephanopoulos: You're a doctor. Do you think tears and sweat can transmit HIV?
Frist: I don't know...I can tell you.
Stephanopoulos: You don't know?
Frist: I can tell you things like, like..condoms.
Stephanopoulos: ... You believe that tears and sweat might be able to transmit aids?
http://www.wonkette.com/politics/hill/bill-frist-says-it-wont-happen-if-you-do-it-standing-up-026962.php

Do we really give this guy the keys to government?

Gin-Gin

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Oy! There are enough headaches in practicing medicine as it is without this politician (who also happens to be a doctor) making the rest of the profession look bad. I'm not a doctor, but I work for a state medical society & this is just the kind of stuff that we really hate, not to mention the fact that this kind of misinformation can be detrimental to the public! Bad Dr. Frist--you should know better!! :mp5: :jedi1: :whip: :(

OP
M

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Is that the reason you doctors are so big on rubber gloves.

Kembudo-Kai Kempoka

Senior Master
Reaction score
HIV Absurdity Fact:

Some guys measured the size of the HIV virus. They then measured the size of the porous spaces between the bits of rubber that make up a rubber glove. The virus was smaller than the spaces, so the bozo's surmised you could catch HIV through a thin rubber glove, just by it flowing haplessly through the porousness. The paramedic community panics, and orders thicker gloves, demands double-gloving, and so on.