ditangquan

oddball

Orange Belt
Reaction score
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ditangquan

Background Info: I was talking with a friend (was a wrestler from hs) about MA, and we decided that what he was looking for technique wise was something of a groundfighting system that incorporates striking. I wiki'd the whole list of MA, and went thru a few until I happened on this article... which I think is describing what I am looking for.

The questions: is this a groundfighting boxing? Is it a system specifically meant for striking on the ground? Is it a "true martial art", or have the techniques been divied up between the other martial arts? Is there even a groundfighting system that is very involved with groundfighting?

The disclaimer: I have very little background info with MA, let alone specifics of CMA.
Thanks for any info.

Edit: I think the first article mentioned "Dog boxing" which I then looked up and found as this - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dog_Kung_Fu
Same questions apply.

7starmantis

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I didn't watch the video or anything, but I think you would be wiser to get with a reputable school that teaches a realistic complete CMA rather than trying to find a "specialized" style to fullfill your needs. Groundfighting is much more effective when learned with striking and a system that can seemlessly flow from striking, standup, ground, etc is a better choice than one that is focused only on one aspect.

JMHO,
7sm

Rook

Black Belt
Reaction score
If he is already a wrestler, he is better off than much of the population already.