Dennis Kucinich takes on Media Conglomeration

michaeledward

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Hey everyone ... now ... I never would have expected to find myself visiting the Dennis Kucinich for President website ... as a New Hampshire-ite ... I have two next-door neighbors that are at the top of the list of candidates .... but then I read an article about how during the debate last week, Kucinich challenged Koppel on media conglomeration, and how ABC News seems to be functioning as the first primary. Anyhow ... one click led to another ... and I found this, shall we say interesting, post on the Kucinich website .... Hmmm

Mike

Dear Sensei:

I am writing to let all the Aikido practitioners in our area know about a presidential candidate whose leadership style embodies the principles of Aikido.

In the 70s, I studied under Atkinson Sensei in Southern California. I remember learning to harmonize with the energy direction of an attack and then to redirect it, which turned out to have a great many applications in daily life. My own success in practicing verbal Aikido was intermittent, but I did manage to reduce hostility and bad energy in my life to the
extentthat I was successful at it.

Last Friday I saw a performance that certainly deserves an honorary shodan rank in the category Aikido in Daily Life. Democratic presidential candidate Dennis Kucinich spoke at the University of Washington. There was a small band of Republican hecklers chanting 'Four more years, four more years, four more years,' as he walked to the podium. He urged them to chant louder, and joined in. They tired of the sport quickly, then Kucinich asked his supporters if they really wanted four more years of war, four more years of homeless people on the streets or four more years without universal health insurance. Each time, the crowd roared: 'No!'

Harmony, redirection.

http://www.theolympian.com/home/news/20031108/frontpage/144104.shtml