Degrees of Black Sash?

masherdong

2nd Black Belt
Reaction score
Hello all,

I was just wondering if there are degrees of black sash just like in other systems of martial arts. I know that traditional kung fu has no belt or ranking system. Years of experience is what was accounted for. I am still new to mantis kung fu so I wanted to throw this out there. Please let me know what you all think.

clfsean

Senior Master
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Hello all,

I was just wondering if there are degrees of black sash just like in other systems of martial arts. I know that traditional kung fu has no belt or ranking system. Years of experience is what was accounted for. I am still new to mantis kung fu so I wanted to throw this out there. Please let me know what you all think.

Depends on the teacher. Some do, some don't. Best I can offer.

xiongnu_lohon

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
Hello all,

You've put this question on almost every forum. I'm not sure why this is so controversial. Yes some people use degrees of black sash. Perhaps they are going along with the example set by japanese & korean arts. Who knows? What I don't understand is this - why is this a big deal. I mean modern wushu uses the duan system which doesn't have bels but does have a heirarchical ranking system that is the equivalent.

The thing is it doesn't matter. I can name many high level cma organizations that have gone over to the colored sash(including degrees of black sash) system. These are organizations that can't be dismissed as not authentic. Yes of course other organizations might have ranks of student, instructor, master level instructor etc. which is basically the same thing. It's just a way of organizing material.