daito-ryu and hakko-ryu jujitsu

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
i am looking into studying these 2 styles of jujitsu and i was wondering if anyone could give me some info on them.such as:what are the differences between the 2.
also,i have a bad left knee where i sliped on some ice and jammed it about 4 years ago that sometimes causes me pain when i squat down.do you think that this will effect my training in any kind of a negative way.
i also have tendenitis in both of my wrists so i was wondering how that might effect me.
just to say,im a full time musician (drummer) so i have to be careful to not blow out my knee or a wrist so thats why im asking these questions.
thanks

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
They way I understand it is that the founder of hakko-ryu studied Diato Ryu, and was a contemporary of Ushieba Sensei, founder of Aikido.

Hakko-ryu tends to be much gentler than Diato-ryu, and there are fewer formal techniques.

Both arts spend a lot of time kneeling and have a lot of wrist bending techniques, so that might be an issue for you. Personally, I find that people have less trouble with there wrists from doing it, but that'll be different from person to person.

Hope this helped a bit,

Jeff

spatulahunter

Green Belt
Reaction score
There is alot of wrist pain from both but it if you have a good instructor that pain will not be damaging. It is ridiculous how flexible m wrists have become from jujutsu practice and now when i fall skateboarding and snowboarding i have found that if i land on my hand the pain is never as bad as it was before i started practicing jujutsu.