Complimentary Arts

TigerWoman

Senior Master
Lifetime Supporting Member
Reaction score
Good thread Rob, unfortunately I will have nothing to contribute since I know very little about other arts... I will wait to see responses. TW

A

Ahriman

I had taken a little bit of Aikido. To me it seemed to be a good complimentary to TKD. But one that I think is great is boxing. I did a little bit with a few friends, and being able to work upper body was great since I am already working the lower body with TKD. Anyone else agree or disagree?

Martial Tucker

Black Belt
Reaction score
I've been training in a traditional/self defense oriented (as opposed to Olympic/competition style) TKD school for about 8 years. When I earned my 1st dan in TKD, I started studying Hapkido along with continuing my TKD training. I think the HKD concepts of joint locks/throws and blending with/using your opponent's energy complement the "hard" punching/kicking style of TKD nicely. While I still have much to learn about both styles, I really feel that the two together provide almost all of the tools I might need. I say "almost" because neither style (that I've seen so far anyway) involve any "ground work". This hasn't been a high priority for me in the past because I'm a pretty good sized guy, and I was a decent enough wrestler in high school to get scholarship offers from some good schools (I played football instead). But...I am starting to feel the need to learn more about groundfighting just to "round out" my training.

Zepp

Master of Arts
Reaction score
The woods of Marin County, California, USA
It'd be much easier to ask which arts don't compliment each other. Oh well...