chito Ryu

K

kelcca

How do Chito Ryu kata's differ rfom other karate styles? Do they include weapon kates? I am a JKD student and am interested in starting a traditional style, it is a choice between Chito Ryu or Aikido. I have checkes out every school in my town and it has come down to these two. Chito ryu seem to do alot of stand up jui jitsu similar to aikido but with out the circilar movements, is this right? Any suggestion, pont of views? Thanks

OP
S

Shuri-te

I have a friend that trained in Chito Ryu in Canada (Ottawa) where the style is very popular. I know the training was very hard, and that there was an emphasis on strong technique. He did not kobudo in his dojo, but is unsure what might have been done in others.

There are kata practiced, but it was uncommon to do any meaningful bunkai, at least in his dojo.

OP
M

Mr.karate

Hi I have been training in Chito ryu for the past 13 years in Alberta it is a great style and I would say try it out and see how you like it! The training is hard and we have both empty hand and Kobudo kata as well as many bunkai. Check out this biography on our founder O sensei Dr.Tsuyoshi Chitose http://www.freenet.edmonton.ab.ca/karate/bio.html. If you have any questions I would be happy to answer them to the best of my ability. Now one question for you were do you live maybe I know the sensei?
Good luck
Justin

OP
S

Shuri-te

More info on the video.

Please read the review on Amazon (link above) before purchasing. It isn't very favorable. And I was absolutely mistaken to assume that the Chito Ryu kata were on this tape. Oops.
:rolleyes:

OP
M

Mr.karate

The video is more for history of Chito ryu and karate in general. It has some good demonstrations and would be an alright video if it was of better quality, you alsohave to remember it is very old. It is a good video for any serious Chito ryu student because it is one of the few videos that I know of with O sensei doing demonstrations.
Justin

OP
S

Shuri-te

Justin: