body problems and the martial arts

drummingman

Blue Belt
Reaction score
i have very bad tendinitis in both of my wrists.this has made me go back and forth on which style of martial art to study as i am a musician and can't risk messing up my wrists.after searching and talking with people i have settled on karate over other styles like jujitsu because of how joint lock intensive jujitsu and similar styles are.
have there been any physical issues in your lives that moved you to choose the art that you take over other arts?

SFC JeffJ

Grandmaster
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I had to stop doing Muay Thai because of an old hip and pelvic injury. I can still to the kicking techniques, just not like I could a few years ago, and being in an actual class and training would just put way too much stress on the injured area.

One thing to remember is that in a traditional Karate class, you'll still do all those joint locks and wrist bends, but probably not till much later.

Jeff

Shotochem

Purple Belt
Founding Member
Reaction score
I would recommend no matter what art you study to wear wrist supports. I have also knon a drummer or 2 that wore wrist supports while drumming. Not those rigid ones but the elastic type that allow greater flexibility.

Also, see a good orthopedic MD and get a good thourough evaluation. I had bad tendinitous in my elbow and it took a couple of cortizone shots, a few months of antiinflamitories and a couple of months of not really using my right arm too much to really improve. it's a nagging injury and it will occassionally flare up again.

-Marc-

karatekid1975

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
drummingman, did you get the tendinitis from drumming? If so, me too. I have tendinitis in my left, and CTS in the right from drumming.