BALINTAWAK: Does Anyone Have Info?

J

Joe Eccleston

Hello all:

I just recently read something about a group called Balintawak in another forum. I am new to Filipino Martial arts, but I have been training in other arts for 15 years now. I was very intrigued of what I read about this art, and would like to know more. If anyone out there can provide any further information about training and good instructors qualified to teach this system, I would be grateful. Thank you.

--- Joe

(p.s.-- if there has already been a post about this subject I truly apologize, as I am also new to this forum)

Bob Hubbard

Retired
MT Mentor
Founding Member
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
There is an interview in MartialTalk Magazine with GM Ted Buot. The first part is in the free July 2003 issue which you can download from http://www.martialtalk.com/magazine/archives/index.htm

Several members here study the art, and actively train with GM Buot. I'll let them go into the details as I can't adequately describe it yet. :)

OP
J

Joe Eccleston

Great!!! I love this forum... quick and very informative. Thanks, Kaith...

Cruentus

Grandmaster
Reaction score
Balintawak as Manong Ted teaches is kind of "closed door" in the sense that you have to be invited through a recomendation, lessons are at Manongs home, and you have to demonstrate some level of commitment to be accepted and to be able to continue as a student. He is also the only one who teaches Anciong Bacon's original style.

There are other Balintawak programs out there that may be very good for you to go check out, though. If you let us know where you are located, perhaps someone can refer you to a qualified instructor.

Paul Janulis
Balintawak student
Freelance writer
Author and interviewer in linked article

OP
J

Joe Eccleston

Ah...L.A.....that answers my question in the other thread!
coolyellow.gif