bad "sparring"

fight4fun

White Belt
Reaction score
I've been training muay thai for 4 years and at first i did smokers and got my butt kicked. I started training harder and I started doing a lot better. I've fought 2 amateur fights with 1win-1loss and over 12 smokers. I excel in clinching and kneeing, not the best but my knees are my best weapons. I recently did an "interclub sparring" match (no more "smokers" thanks to the california athletic commission) and got dropped by a punch-kick combo and again by a punch combo. I normally do smokers at 180lbs but I didn't have time to cut weight and fought 190. When I fought my opponent his punches felt extremely hard and the kicks also. Even so I'm still dissappointed cuz I think I looked horrible. In my gym I'm regarded as being tough and knowing a few things. I made it through my two rounds but I think I embarrased my friends and trainers. My cardio is above average and I train about 2 hours five days a week and I spar a lot too. any advice?

Jarrod G.

Yellow Belt
Reaction score
First, I'm not sure what you mean by 'smokers', is this some sort of local term for something..I've never heard it before.

second, it sounds like you need a good drill to improve your guard so that you can weather an onslaught and get in close enough to use your clinch/knee talents. One thing you can try is a drill we used to do. When you spar, don't attack. Try to find someone with some decent hand/leg skills and ask if they want to play offense for you. Get them to attack you for several 5 minute rounds without you attacking back. We used to do drill and switch back an forth every 5 minutes, but if you can find someone willing to be strictly offense, you can improve you guard drastically by doing this just a couple times a week.

I hope this helps =)

jarrod

Senior Master
Reaction score
a smoker is an informal, usually unsanctioned fight night. usually opponents aren't set up, you just show & see who is around your weight.

jf

Akira