Applying some Drunken fist principles to muay thai for functional use outside the ring.

Zephyor

Orange Belt
Reaction score
Things like masking a step-in kick with a off-balance limp,
Getting into clinch-range with wiggly footwork or landing proficient elbows at ease....

Basicly decieve till you get an opening then go all in.
It looks good in my head but i guess i saw too many movies lately :/
PS: fighting under influence of alcohol is not recomended under any circumstance

DaveB

Master Black Belt
Reaction score
Such things are POSSIBLE, but they take a lot of training and testing against a lot of different people.

Also I have no knowledge of actual drunken kungfu to know if they have particular methods or how well they work for your suggestion.

But essentially you are talking about fients and deceptions. Being able to "sell" an uncommitted movement or leading the opponent to a place of vulnerability by your movements.

ALL fighting styles do this when the Fighter becomes skilled.

Flying Crane

Sr. Grandmaster
Reaction score
I would not recommend using the deception of being drunk, in a situation where all parties involved know that you are NOT drunk. The deception does not work and you are setting yourself up to get hit.

Pretending to be drunk gives you one chance to land a strike IF your enemy believes the deception. Once you take your shot the deception is revealed and the fight is on. Don't waste further effort on the deception.

That being said, I don't know what principles are to be found within drunken methods.

MA_Student

Black Belt
Reaction score
Things like masking a step-in kick with a off-balance limp,
Getting into clinch-range with wiggly footwork or landing proficient elbows at ease....

Basicly decieve till you get an opening then go all in.
It looks good in my head but i guess i saw too many movies lately :/
PS: fighting under influence of alcohol is not recomended under any circumstance