Any tips for stretching??

N

nekoTKD

Hey all, Im new to TKD in general (well 14 weeks) and Im having a little problem getting my kicks up high. Do you have any tips for the best types of stretching to do? I mean I do about 30 minutes a day of static stretching (I hold for about 30 seconds) but it doesn't seem to be working too well. Like my sidepierce kick will only get to about belt level...
so if you've got any tips on stretching, please post!

Thanks,

Brandon

bignick

Senior Master
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Patience....

the flexibility that you see from higher ranks didn't develop overnight...I would say to just stick with your stretching routine and keep working...you will notice results...

The Kai

Master of Arts
Reaction score
Especially Side Kick, it is a combination of the lateral movement which your body has not had a lot of call to do and can't use momentum, but pull up the knee with some rather minimal muscle.

BTW Big Nick, either the camera angle is great or you are a rather large nick!
Todd

Xequat

Black Belt
Reaction score
Sometimes it helps to do a little running in place or jumping jacks for a few minutes to get the blood flowing to your muscles first. I think it's good to hold for about 30 seconds like you are and when you try to stretch further, do it on the exhale. Then inhale and stretch a little further on the exhale again. One stretching exercise I like for that sort of thing is straight-leg kicks. After you loosen up and stretch out some, stand up and keep one leg straight and swing it up in front of you or lift it to the side. Maybe for the side kicks, you could hold one leg out in the air by itself then make little circles with it to get it higher and higher. After time, this seems to help not just your ability to do the splits or something, but to have better control of your leg when it's in the air during a fight. Hope that makes sense.

RanaHarmamelda

Orange Belt
Reaction score