Yamaha Guitars

Tames D

RECKLESS
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Anyone have an opinion on Yamaha guitars? Good, Bad, Ugly? I'd like to hear about their quality, etc.

Sukerkin

Have the courage to speak softly
MT Mentor
Lifetime Supporting Member
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
From my perspective, they are decent enough to learn on but once you climb out of the 'Learner' years then I think you'll start to want something a bit better.

OP
Tames D

Tames D

RECKLESS
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
I kinda thought the same thing Suk. I got one for Christmas and it seems to be pretty good quality. But I'm no expert.

Jaeimseu

3rd Black Belt
Reaction score
I can't comment on Yamaha guitars specifically, but there are many good starter guitars out there from many manufacturers these days, at reasonable prices.

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
Yamaha builds musical equipment that is decent and consistent. Their gear is perhaps unspectacular but it is not bad either.

Personally I think their acoustic guitars are better than their electrics, they learned a lot about the acoustics of sound from building and improving upon their pianos.

OP
Tames D

Tames D

RECKLESS
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
http://www.zzounds.com/item--YAMFGX700SC

Mine is an acoustic/electric. I really like it. Of course I'm a beginner, so what do I know :). I learned to play when I was a kid but for some reason gave it up. At any rate, I think it's a nice gift from a friend. Not a Gibson, but hey... :)

Carol

Crazy like a...
MT Mentor
MTS Alumni
Reaction score
That is a very nice guitar! It has a solid spruce top, that will give you a very nice, warm sound. That could very well be a guitar that you never outgrow. :asian:

Congrats! And enjoy :)

Omar B

Senior Master
Reaction score